Free From Addiction

I used to be a chain smoker for most of my adult life. I was so addicted, I thought it was impossible for me to stop.  When I tried, it was torture and I would start again after just two days.

When I began to read one of Allen Carr’s books it didn’t sound like anything special at first – he seemed to repeat the same things over and over again and he insisted that I smoked normally until I read it to the end.

But as I read more and more of it, I felt the usual craving for a cigarette became gradually weaker until all of a sudden it was gone and, for the first time since I began smoking, I felt I could just stop it – without any discomfort.

Today is 13 years since that last cigarette at the end of this book. I have never missed it even for a moment. 

On the contrary, it feels like I am out of prison.  In the first few years after quitting I would sometimes have a bad dream about starting smoking again. It was always very depressing and when I woke up and discovered that it was just a dream, I felt so relieved, happy and thankful.

Now even those dreams have ended. It must be years since the last one.

Allen Carr died of lung cancer in 2006. Decades of smoking 100 cigarettes a day finally caught up with him. 

But according to him the last 23 years since he quit smoking had been the happiest ones of his life.

He left behind a precious gift for millions of smokers all around the world – a way out.

I will always be grateful for that.

The best way I can express this gratitude is to spread the word around. If even one smoker benefits from this, it’s great.

From what I have heard, the majority of people using the Allen Carr’s method succeed in quitting smoking and many experience that as much easier than they would ever imagine, even fun.

And if you are one of those for whom this method doesn’t work, don’t worry. You just need to find your own way out.

****************************************

Photo and text by Aditix. All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in Life, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Free From Addiction

  1. I was quite happy when my husband quit smoking. Second hand smoke is awful when you yourself do not smoke. Good for you on quitting. That is Great.

  2. scifihammy says:

    Congratulations on managing to give up smoking, and keep it up 🙂
    You must be so much healthier. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    It is so hard to stop cigarettes. Congratulations to you.

  4. Well done! I’ve tried Carr a couple of times but…!

  5. Congratulations on your perseverence and achievement! Any smoker who manages to quit (and stay smoke-free) deserves a medal. Of course we grew up in a smoker society, so I’m thankful I never became a smoker, and that my husband had quit before I met him. Since I’m quite sensitive to smoke, we enforced a no-smoking house, even with guests (after bad experiences). In recent years, our city conducted strong anti-smoking education campaigns, and managed to ban smoking in all workplaces, restaurants, cafes, and even some public open spaces, and even inside cars where there are children present!. It’s wonderful! Among all the anti-pollution and environmental responsibility campaigns out there, anti-smoking should be included among the top concerns. I have compassion for the great effort required by addicted individuals, therefore all the more highly respect and congratulate those who succeed in quitting! The earth and its inhabitants thank you! 🙂

    • Aditix says:

      One thing I learned as a smoker was that shaming and guilt inducing didn’t help at all, it made me crave a cigarette even more. So I was very careful not to become one of those preachy ex-smokers, who make the smokers feel bad about themselves (they already feel bad enough, that makes them smoke more).
      Thank you for the praise and for your thoughts on this. 🙂

  6. DG MARYOGA says:

    Interesting post,I admire the power of your will and your discipline,dear Aditix 🙂 ❤ xxx

  7. I’m willing myself to give up after 40 years smoking. You are so right when you say it’s a prison but I’m hoping to pinch the jailers keys and be free very soon. I admire you so much for succeeding. I will definitely try & see if I can find a copy of the book. Thanks so much. Su x

    • Aditix says:

      Thank you and I wish you the best of luck. I can warmly recommend Allen Carr’s books, his method works for most people who try it. And if it doesn’t work for you, don’t worry, there are many other ways to do it.

Leave a Reply

