Rice Paper Rolls


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

Also called Vietnamese fresh rolls, salad rolls, Vietnamese spring rolls and many other things.

It was the first time I made them and I was very pleased with the result. 

You fill them with lots of vegetables, often also some meat or shrimps and rice noodles. I don`t like rice noodles because they look like worms to me, so I used cooked basmati rice instead.

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

It sounded so simple, just put the rice paper in water for a few seconds to soften it, but when I did it, the sticky paper folded itself together and it wouldn`t let me straighten it out  –  and I ended up with something that looked like a perforated condom. 😦

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

But I learned quickly and for every roll I made, I became better and better.

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

In the end, wrapping the rolls up was fun. 🙂

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

Only one roll – that first one –  became a “condom roll”, the rest turned out fine.

They are usually eaten fresh, with dipping sauce.

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

But they can also be fried.

I pan-fried some of them in sesame oil and I liked the fried version even more than the fresh one.

 


Copyright Aditix. All rights reserved.

 

I made my rolls vegetarian and these are the ingredients I used this time:

Rice Paper

Filling:  

Cooked rice
Iceberg Lettuce
Cabbage
Carrot
Celery
Spring Onions
Sweet Corn
Some Love  ♥ ♥ ♥

Dipping Sauce:  

Chili Sauce
Soy Sauce
Onion Powder
Garlic Powder
Lemon Juice
some more love  ♥ ♥ ♥

 

Aditix

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rice Paper Rolls

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I love these spring rolls. I have never made them at home. Yes, I have heard it is hard to use the rice paper. You have inspired me to try it myself 🙂

  2. whatuful says:

    I love rice paper rolls too haha 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    Omg this leaves my mouth watering. It looks so fresh and delicious. I love there fried ones best. Thanks for sharing such a lovely recipe!

    • Aditix says:

      Thank you, so nice to hear this from you. I always get inspired by your recipes.
      Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. This looks so very delicious and fresh ……loved it….

Leave a Reply

